DeKalb nominates three new members for MARTA board

DeKalb CEO Michael Thurmond has nominated (from left) Roderick Frierson, Rita Scott and Jim Redovian to serve on the MARTA Board of Directors.

DeKalb is set to have three new members on the MARTA Board of Directors.

The county’s Board of Commissioners is expected to vote March 26 to approve the appointments of Roderick Frierson, Jim Redovian and Rita Scott.

The three, nominated by DeKalb CEO Michael Thurmond, will replace existing board members Jim Durrett, Fred Daniels and Bob Dallas, and serve four-year terms. 

Redovian will represent North Decatur; Frierson, South DeKalb; and Scott, will be the county-wide representative.

Frierson, a business development consultant, is president of the Hidden Hills Civic Association, one of the county’s largest communities with 1,683 homes. He has nearly 30 years of leadership experience in manufacturing, distribution and warehouse management. He received a bachelor of science degree in resource development and management from Michigan State University.

Redovian, who is owner and president of Atlantic Southern Products Inc., is on the executive board of the Dunwoody Homeowners Association. He is a former member of the DeKalb County Board of Education and a past president of Dunwoody Stage Door Players. He is a graduate of Ohio University where he majored in business law and finance.

Scott is president of the Carriage Pointe Homeowners Association in Stone Mountain, and a member of the 4th Congressional District Women and the Pine Ridge Elementary PTA. Since 2004, she has worked with the Communication Workers of America as a political director, lobbying on behalf of workers and workers’ rights. Scott holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Miami Dade College.

She will be the 10th woman to represent DeKalb County on the MARTA Board.

 Thurmond called the nominees “dedicated civic and community leaders who have demonstrated a deep commitment to the county.”

“The addition of these three members will be a tremendous asset in helping the county strongly advocate for continuous transit and ridership improvements,” he said.

They are the first appointees since local and state law changed in 2015 requiring board members to represent specific areas of the county.

The legislation, which also reduced DeKalb County’s appointments from four to three, allowed current members, whose terms expired in December 2016, to serve until their successors are appointed. 

DeKalb’s fourth board member was reassigned to the DeKalb Municipal Association.  

Below is a list of the women board members and the length of their service:



Length of Service  

Gretta Dewald

1977 - 1977

Blanche R. Henderson

1980 - 1987

Julia Mitchell-Ivey

1988 - 1999

Carol D. Cherry

1994 - 1997

Kathryn M. Zickert

1998 - 2001

Henrietta Turnquest

2003 - 2004

Pat Upshaw-Monteith

2004 - 2006

JoAnn Godfrey McClinton

2007 - 2010

Wendy Butler

2011 - 2014